Welcome to the Hawke’s Bay Branch of the Royal Society Te Apārangi. The Branch was established in 1874 as the “Philosophical Institute” by Rev. William Colenso and others. Some indication of the scope of Colenso’s scholastic output can be seen in the New Zealand Electronic Text Collection of Victoria University of Wellington.

Dr Elizabeth Pishief has written a comprehensive history of the Hawke’s Bay Branch.

The Hawke’s Bay Branch of the Royal Society is one of the regional societies of the Royal Society Te Apārangi. We are active in the advancement and the public understanding of science, technology and the humanities, particularly through the delivery of lectures to members and the general public of Hawke’s Bay. From time to time, we also assist other science promotion activities and support the teaching of science, technology, engineering and mathematics in local schools.

Coming events are listed as posts on this site and to keep abreast of our activities please subscribe to our newsletter. Becoming a member at very modest cost helps us continue our work.

The Royal Society Te Apārangi is an independent, statutory, not-for-profit body in New Zealand that promotes, recognises excellence in, provides funding for and expert advice on, science, technology and the humanities. In addition to direct members and fellows, its membership includes many national constituent organisations and regional societies.

The Royal Society advances and promotes science and technology in New Zealand, recognises and encourages excellence in research, supports education, provides expert advice to guide public policy and publishes scientific journals, reports and educational resources. It administers research grants, fellowships, awards and prizes. You’ll find more information on the Royal Society website.